Because The Truth….

…hurts. I can remember as far back as possible hearing the phrase, “the truth hurts” being young I never truly understood what it meant; I just couldn’t for the life of me grasp the meaning no matter how many wondering thought bubbles my little, gray matter filled head expelled. It took some time for me to understand but it was revealed. And then, years later after  I devoted myself to God I was given an even deeper understanding. Some people can accept things on a simpler level but I, sometimes, desire an understanding that captures more complexities and well when it comes to the truth I’ve been given a special revelation.

John 3:16 says ” For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

Matthew 27:32-56 tells us about the Crucifixion of Jesus.

When I look at the above scriptures, although I can’t speak on the behalf of other believers, I try but can certainly never imagine such pain. Yes, pain!! People….the Truth had to endure a crown of thornes placed upon His head and then He had to lug an immensely heavy cross to the ground that would ultimately be his place of certain death, the Truth endured having nails driven in His flesh and so much more torture…..all for us. God loved His Son but was willing to give Him up in such a heart breaking manner I know that REALLY hurt. Now……with all of the pain surrounding this whole bittersweet situation I can certainly say that THE TRUTH did hurt as He hung high up on the cross.

When you think about the phrase “the truth hurts” realize that it very well may hurt but it’s for ones own benefit. If my Jesus endured such pain what makes us any different, nothing absolutely NOTHING. I’d rather be educated and reprimanded about the distinct difference between the truth and something sugar coated and ineffective. So, the next time you or someone you know is offended or hurt when it comes to the TRUTH just acknowledge your imperfection(s) and think about what Jesus went through and accept the current pain instead of opting for the eternal pain.

With Much Agape Love,

Diane

Leave a Reply

